Summer Music

Although summer is technically about two weeks away, it’s close enough for me. With temperatures regularly breaking 90, it sure feels like summer. And as I did last year, I like to “welcome” summer with my favorite “summer” music.

Let’s start with perhaps the ‘classic” summer song: The Lovin’ Spoonful’s “Summer in the City”…

Another summer standard is Chad and Jeremy’s “Summer Song.” I don’t know how anyone can listen to it and not have a smile on their face.

Of course, sometimes it’s a “Cruel Summer” as Bananarama sings:

A lot of my generation was introduced to “Summertime Blues” by The Who, but here’s the earlier one by Eddie Cochrane.

Summer means sunny afternoons, and that’s what we have from The Kinks’ #1 one hit in the UK in July 1966:

Summer also means summer vacation. When I think summer vacation, I think of the Beach Boys’ “Kokomo”:

The Gos-Gos know a bit about vacations:

One of the most popular songs in 1970, the year I graduated high school, was Mungo Jerry’s “In the Summertime” and it’s still going strong today.

One of my favorite 80’s songs is Katrina and the Waves’ “Walking on Sunshine”:

Finally, summer is often associated with romance and for that we’ve got John Travolta and Olivia Newton John’s  “Summer Nights” from their movie “Grease.”

2 responses to “Summer Music

  1. They don’t write much summer songs these days. I remember tuning in to RJFM (if you’re familiar with the station) and hearing all those summer songs you mentioned. I’m humming “Summertime” by the Zombies right now

  2. Is that the FM version of DZRJ, which was the big AM (I think) station everyone listen to in my day? And yes, we need more “summer” music.

What say you?