Take Me Out to the Ballgame

As I mentioned in my last post, I recently saw my very first baseball game after 45 years in the U.S. and a not so young 64. There are various reasons for that.

First, growing up in the Philippines, basketball was “the” sport for obvious reasons. You can’t be running up and down a football field in a uniform and helmet in a tropical country.

Second, I’m not much of a sports “watcher.” I was on the basketball team in two of my high school years and also the track team. I’d rather play a sport than watch it.

But last weekend was a nice Spring day and so when a friend offered to take me using an extra ticket I thought, “why not?” And I liked it!

We had “primo” seats in the covered section of the grandstand. From where we were, we faced the pitcher dead center, with the catcher on our right and third base on our left, so didn’t have to turn our heads.

I’d always thought baseball was a “slow”game punctuated with a few moments of excitement. Not this game! Maybe because Florida State is so superior to Rhode Island: it is ranked in the national top 20  in five different polls. The final score was something like 22-1.

In the first inning, I saw a home run with one player on base. Rhode Island contributed to the lop sided score with a number of “errors.” I noticed that FSU did a pretty good job of hitting “grounders” and also putting the ball down the sideline.

Rhode Island often hit fly balls which were easily caught. The Rhode Island catcher dropped the ball so often over two innings that the pitcher was replaced, which told me it wasn’t the catcher’s fault but poor pitching.

What I found interesting is how aggressive FSU is with base stealing. There was a continual cat and mouse game between the pitcher and any FSU player on second base, since the pitcher cannot see second base without looking back.

I don’t know if this is typical at other college games, but there were all sorts of promotions from sponsors. First, folks in one seating area might get a discount on burritos, and later another seating area got a discount on something else. Wasn’t sure how that worked since there were too many to hand out a card to. Maybe they saved their tickets and presented them for the discount.

During the “seventh inning stretch” the loudspeakers played the music to “Take Me Out to the Ballgame” and many folks sang.

All in all, it was a relaxing way to spend a nice sunny (but not hot), nearly cloudless Spring day. I’ll back if the opportunity arises again!

 

2 responses to “Take Me Out to the Ballgame

  1. Happy to see you enjoyed your first game. Tallahassee is a great place to watch when the weather is nice, and the grandstands are the best seats.

    I started playing little league at age 8. I grew up with the game and never left it. The most fun I ever had was coaching 3rd base for boys baseball. If I could have found a way to make money at it I would have done it forever.

    Love the game.

  2. LOL I remember watching this 1958 Ed Sullivan show spot. I was about to start my 12 year old season in little league. I knew these Yankees by sight and their stats as well. They were larger than life to guys like me, we used to sit in our dugouts and compute averages day to day.

    Sadly Roy Campanella never recovered from the auto accident and went from catching the Brooklyn Dodgers to a wheel chair.

What say you?

