The Sounds of Music (We Will Not “Rock” You)

This week’s post will be available in a few hours. I’ve been having “technical” difficulties.

One response to “The Sounds of Music (We Will Not “Rock” You)

  1. My musical progression went like this: 1940’s pop (because of my mother), to folk in the 60’s. In the interim is when Elvis became popular and my mother loved him, but I didn’t. From there to 60’s pop like the Beatles, and from there to actual rock in the late 60’s/early and late 70’s, like the Rolling Stones and anything Eric Clapton was doing. Then a little zigzag into disco! Then, the blues. One of the only remaining things I remember fondly about living in Memphis for 25 years is world-class blues in every street-corner bar. And then, to country and bluegrass. Odd, because I grew up with both but rejected it. And then, zydeco.
    And classical music had always been a part of my life. I took piano lessons from the time I was 5 until I was 16, so it was always a thread in the background. Now for some reason I can’t even explain, I almost never listen to music.

What say you?

