Check In To The Grand Budapest Hotel

Recently, I wrote about some summer films I’m looking forward to. But there’s a “grand” film that you can see now: The Grand Budapest Hotel.

I admit I wasn’t too excited about this film at first. My initial scouting suggested the film is a comedy and I think comedy is difficult because sense of humor varies from person to person.

But lacking any other films I was interested in, I decided to…check out in to The Grand Budapest.  And I was pleasantly surprised.

The Grand Budapest Hotel is one of the most delightful films I’ve seen in a long time. And the film is not just a comedy; it’s also a murder mystery adventure with a love story on the side. Not easy to pull off, but it works.

budapest

The story is told in a “flashback” style over a dinner between the hotel’s owner and a writer who is relating the encounter. It doesn’t take too long before the audience sees the story’s direction but as they say in travel…it’s the journey, not the destination.

And what a journey it is! Our hero Ralph Fiennes is wonderfully supported by an ensemble cast that would easily win any Oscar for “ensemble performance”. The over half dozen well known actors include Adrien Brody, Willem Dafoe, Jeff Goldblum, Harvey Keitel, F. Murray Abraham, Jude Law, Bill Murray and Ed Norton. I doubt the film would have been as grand without them.

So if you’re looking to cool off with a film soon, check in to The Grand Budapest Hotel. You won’t be disappointed.

 

What say you?

