I’m Ready To Spring Into Summer

Although we’re just a few weeks into spring, I’m already looking forward to summer.  Because summer brings summer movies.  And there’s three summer films I’m excited about as well as one I have mixed emotions about.

Let’s start with the films I’m looking forward to…

In June, its the fourth installment of the Transformers series. This one is called Age of Extinction. Shia Lebouf, who was the prime human in the three previous iterations, is not in this fourth one. Mark Wahlberg is now the human the Transformers interact with.

I’ll admit that when the first Transformers film came out, I didn’t rush to see it. But when it came to the second run $3 theater, and there was nothing else there I wanted to see, I decided to check it out.  And I liked it.

Unlike some other films, such as some of the Batman ones, the contrast between “good” and “bad” is very stark in Transformers.  Plus, I do have an affinity for the large scale mayhem the Transformers films feature.  The Transformers series is definitely the… “heavy metal” 😉 … of action films.

Here’s the trailer for the next one:

In July, it’s the second installment of the “new” Planet of the Apes, titled “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes.”  I wasn’t too fond of the “original” series (and I saw them all on TV).   But Rise of the Planet of the Apes was well done, I thought. Now, folks were cheering for the apes.  Let’s see who we cheer for in this next chapter.

Here’s the trailer:

And finally, in August, is a film I didn’t think would happen even though the original is one of my favorites.  Sin City returns with Sin City 2: A Dame To Kill For.  Bruce Willis, Mickey Rourke and Jessica Alba return along with some fresh faces: Josh Broslin and…Lady Gaga.

Here’s the trailer:

Since the first Kill Bill is one of my favorite films, you’ll understand why this scene is one of my favorites from the original Sin City:

A film I’ll probably see but which I have mixed emotions about is Jersey Boys, the screen adaptation of the very successful stage production by the same name. Jersey Boys is the story of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons from an insider’s view – the band members themselves narrate.  (If you’re under 50, you may not be familiar with the band, which had 29 Top 40 hits back in the ’60’s.)

Many folks say that a film adapted from a book cannot do it justice, which is true because they are different mediums.  Similarly, films and stage productions are different types of performances.

My experience has been that, with musicals, I prefer stage productions to films regardless of which came first. I’ve seen stage productions of both Mama Mia and Phantom in Vegas and preferred them to the film versions.  I suspect I’ll have the same opinion about the film version of Jersey Boys (which I also saw in Vegas), which is directed by Clint Eastwood.

Here’s the film trailer:

Here’s a trailer for the Las Vegas stage production:

And here are Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons performing a medley of their hits:

Summer? Bring it on!

2 responses to “I’m Ready To Spring Into Summer

  1. You found some interesting films to prepare for. I agree with youthat the transformers are like heavy metal , as I was never a heavy metal fan I am not a transformer fan, show me some good acting a decent script and some larger than life events and I’m all in.

    The original Planet of the Apes with Charlton Heston was a 5 star movie for many of us, I mean you had Judah Ben Hur/Moses playing the lead. The last scene had a significant emotional impact on theater audiences in the beginning of the “post nuclear threat” era. Who can say how much that influenced accelerated nuclear disarmament? The second generation of Ape movies can never recapture that impact. The scene even had it’s recreation in an episode of Madmen (lol).

    A Dame To Kill For looks like a lot of fun, love the cast and the genre looks fun, kinda of a “New Noir.”

    I posted on Jersey Boys some time back after seeing it at the Tampa Performing Arts Center. Loved it then and look forward to it now, anything Eastwood does is worth watching. I do agree with you about musicals not transitioning from stage to screen well, Westside Story being one of the few successes, Phantom was not good at all, nor Les Miz.
    Jersey boys is different for those of us who came of age in the 60’s. They were ubiquitous, like they filled the very air. Teenagers always looked for freedom and music was and is one of the best way to escape the shackles of society and hang out. So a set of wheels and a radio provided freedom and The Four Seasons became part of the atmosphere. They seemed to have no beginning and no end (unlike the British Invasion beginning with the Beatles) they were just always there. The drug of choice. Going back to them with Jersey Boys is like going back to youth and freedom and brings back a ton of memories that are often otherwise unrecalled..

    • > good acting a decent script

      I prefer that, which is why I like foreign films since they are more plot-oriented than special effects but sometimes I just need brainless “entertainment.” Which is why I like the Resident Evil series.

      Did you see the first “Sin City”? If not, may want to see it before seeing the second one.

      I remember your Jersey Boys post. If it wasn’t Jersey Boys and Clint directing, I don’t know that I’d see it. From the trailer, I don’t think the actors’ voices are as good as what I heard in Vegas stage version. Maybe I just need to hear them loud in a theater. (But I noticed the same thing in Phantom – stage version sounded better. Maybe it’s because the stages are acoustically better than filming in the open, although they may be lip-syncing while filming and singing in the studio.

      Since you prefer the original Planet of Apes series, how do you feel about the “young” Star Trek movies? I like it.

What say you?

