My Favorite Apple is….Pineapple

Since I grew up in Asia, it’s no surprise that I like tropical fruits.  One of my favorites is pineapple, which I regularly snacked on.  Fresh pineapple with salt is how I prefer it.

Now that I live in the U.S., I don’t have much opportunity to enjoy fresh pineapple.  I used to see it at a buffet which is no longer in business.  And while I do see whole, peeled pineapple in the grocery, I’m not sure how “fresh” it is.  If I can’t get fresh pineapple, I’ll make do with canned pineapple.

For whatever reason, my grocery has been frequently putting canned Dole pineapple on  “buy one get one free” sale and so I’ve been stocking up.  I’ve got a stash of about a dozen cans.

I remember when canned pineapple was generally available only as slices in heavy syrup.  But today, options is the name of the game.  Now, there’s crushed and chunks.  I prefer chunks because they’re easier to eat.  I pass up the “in heavy syrup” version for the natural “in pineapple juice” option.

Among the benefits of pineapple as a snack is that it’s fairly fibrous and so a little goes a long way in making you feel full.  And folks my age are exhorted to eat more fiber! 😉

I’m also using my pineapple to make smoothies.  I add pineapple chunks to  some Dannon’s Light & Fit pineapple and coconut yogurt, add crushed ice (I’ve got an ice crusher), mix in a blender and enjoy!  Now that temperatures are in the mid-80’s, these smoothies are a nice way to keep cool.

I noticed on the can that a half-cup serving provides 25% of the recommended daily amount of Vitamin C and only 70 calories.  I also found other… interesting… information on the can:  pineapple is kosher! I wonder under what conditions fruit in its own juice would not be kosher…

And why didn’t Dole address other “trendy” nutritional concerns?  Such as “no trans fat” and “no cholesterol.”  And of course the BIG one these days: gluten free.”

The can did include this statement attributed to the National Cancer Institute: ” diets rich in fruits and vegetables may reduce the risk of some types of cancer and other chronic diseases.”  That’ll motivate more folks to eat pineapple! If they read cans… (And I do see most folks studying cans when I’m grocery shopping.)

There was room on the can for them to note, against an appropriately green background, that “for more than 100 years, Dole has been committed to our environment…”  Aren’t you impressed that Dole was green before being green was cool?

But the most pleasing information on the can was the source of the pineapple: product of the Philippines.  Since at least 2000, the Philippines has been the world’s second largest pineapple exporter.  In 2010, the Philippines was the top pineapple exporter.

Gen-you-wine delicious Philippine pineapple

Gen-you-wine delicious Philippine pineapple

Now guess who is the world’s top pineapple importer? Until I learned it from the can, I didn’t know it is the U.S.  I wonder what’s happening to all that pineapple… Because I doubt most folks are regularly consuming it.

But now that you know all the health benefits of pineapple, I expect that you’ll be checking out a can on your next trip to the grocery! And remember, don’t accept anything less than gen-you-wine Philippine pineapple.

Oh, and my favorite nut? That’s right..it’s coconut! 😉

6 responses to “My Favorite Apple is….Pineapple

  1. When I was a wee child, my father taught me to make cheese toast with pineapple on top. You broil the bread on one side, then turn it over, put a slice of cheddar cheese on it and a pineapple ring on top, then broil until the cheese is bubbly and the pineapple is slightly charred. Absolutely delicious.
    Oh and that part about Dole being “green”? They lie like dogs! That may be true now, but 100 years ago? Nope.

    • Pineapple cheese toast? Isn’t there a U.N. resolution condemning that?…lol! At least you’re not also putting a slice of Spam on top. Although in Manila, I’d not be surprised if Spam on toast with pineapple isn’t a big treat.

      I don’t like melted cheese on foods, except pizza (and maybe a few others that don’t come to mind.) No cheeseburgers. If I get an Egg McMuffin, it’s without cheese. of course, that “cheese” isn’t really cheese, as far I’m concerned. (Hmmm..maybe I need to do a post on “fake food”, such as “pasteurized cheese product.”)

      As for Dole’s 100 years of green, you mean a big corporation might be fudging the truth to curry favor with customers? Nooooo…..!

      Salt on pineapple brings out the “flavor.” Try it!

  2. Pineapple is a favorite fruit in these parts. Maybe the long winters make us crave a food that reminds us of warm climates. And I simply love the taste of it. Our local Sam’s Club always has the best produce selection and their pineapples are huge and always delicious. The only drawback is all the effort it takes to slice one. And I bought a Pampered Chef pineapple corer-slicer to solve that problem!

    • Now I’d not think Minnesota would be a big consumer of pineapple. But, your thinking is logical!

      Yes, pineapple is not easy to peel. Thank goodness when I was eating it fresh there were…”others”…to do that.

  3. And P.S., I never heard of eating pineapple with salt! But I eat all melons with salt (watermelon, cantaloupe, honeydew, etc.)

  4. sc, I guess if you don’t like melted cheese, the pineapple cheese toast won’t work for you 🙂 Since my father also introduced me to Spam (he was in WWII, no surprise), I’m surprised he didn’t think of it lol. I’m all for a post on fake food products. Besides cheese “products”, I volunteer Miracle Whip.

What say you?

