A Chainsaw Massacre and A Bowl of Tomatoes

Our house lot is almost two-thirds of an acre, so we have large front and back lawns.  We’ve kept a swath of the back yard adjoining the house in back of us in a “natural” state.  Which means we just let it go.  We also dump leaves from the driveway there.  (We let the leaves on the front lawn stay there, as we do grass clippings.)

Last fall, I decided the natural portion of the back yard needed some maintenance.  Between the drought and lightning strikes, a lot of large limbs had come down.  I bought a 14-inch electric chain saw but developed tennis elbow before I could start the job.

Last weekend, I decided I’d recovered from the tennis elbow and couldn’t wait until cooler weather to get back to the job.  I spent a good hour and a half on Saturday cutting up the limbs into various sizes depending on how large the limb was.  Even though it was only 10 in the morning and in the mid-80’s, the humidity was high and I sweated more than any other time I can recall this year.

Then, it was a good 100+ steps from the staging area to the front lawn where I had to take the limbs for pick up.  The good news is that about the last 50 steps were all downhill.  Afterwards, I rehydrated myself by “going native” with a generous portion of pineapple sherbet topped with sweetened shredded coconut.

Chainsaw victims

Sunday was overcast and so I decided to pick up smaller limbs that were all over the front yard and add them to Saturday’s pile.  As I was picking up some limbs next to a viney area that I’d never paid much attention to, I noticed something red.  It was a medium sized tomato!  These “vines” were tomato vines!

As I explored the rest of the patch, I found another three medium sized tomatoes and a number of “cherry” tomatoes.  Plus some tomatoes that had rotted.  But there were more “ripe” than spoiled tomatoes and a number of green ones which I could harvest after they ripened.

Vine ripe tomatoes

I asked Susie if she had planted a tomato patch and she said she had not.  I’m thinking we threw some spoiled tomatoes onto the lawn for the squirrels and some seeds had taken root.  These vines look like they’ve been growing for some years but this is the first time I noticed the tomatoes.  For all I knew, I had missed previous blossoms.

More tomatoes

Between the different types of tomatoes, I gathered up enough to fill a nice bowl.  The cherry tomatoes went into a pot roast.  The larger ones will be sliced up and put into the sandwiches I bring to work for lunch.  I love tomatoes but I rarely buy them unless they’re on sale.

Tomatoes for a week

If my patch holds up, I’ll be enjoying tomatoes much more often!  And all because I decided to do some hard outside labor, which is very rare indeed.  The tomato gods rewarded me for my efforts!

3 responses to “A Chainsaw Massacre and A Bowl of Tomatoes

  1. Well you can probably thank some birds for your tomatoes rather than the gods, but who knows. If you want them next year you can plant in March, might be a good retirement project. We have Ruskin tomatoes sold on the roadside here for $3 a basket and they are delicious. Before my mother passed i used to UPS her a basket a month in season and she loved them. Postage cost more than the tomatoes. I sent them because she complained that Florida just didn’t have good tomatoes. So I pulled up the Waldorf’s menu and showed her Ruskin tomatoes ($12 a side). Her neighbors began to “pop in” for some maters so I had to double up for a while.

    Anyway volunteer Tallahassee Tomatoes are truly a gift. Enjoy:)

  2. I have to plant? They won’t just come back? I may be too lazy for planting…(Maybe the ones that rotted will seed the next generation….

What say you?

