The Final Solution To Phone Spam

When my phone service was still land line based, I suffered the scourge of that technology: telephone spammers.  Fortunately, I’m not one who believes I need to answer the phone when it rings.  Back then, I allowed the answering machine to take calls, especially during dinner time when the spammers tended to call.  I was aggravated when the phone rang but no message was left.  That meant it was a spammer and the call would likely return later.

I’ve not had a land line for many years.  And one of the benefits has been no telephone spam.  Maybe that’s because cell phones aren’t in telephone books and so I’m somewhat invisible.  I ‘ve wondered why I didn’t receive spam calls just from sequential number dialing techniques.  For whatever reason, I’ve not received a spam call on an obselete Nokia phone I’ve owned longer than I can remember.

My “no spam calls” paradise has been disrupted in the last two months. The calls aren’t coming into the Nokia but on a Samsung phone acquired about 18 months ago when I added “pay as you go” Tracfone service.  I did this so my wife can call me even if my job takes me out of town for the day.

Since I wasn’t transferring an existing number, I was assigned one.  That resulted in my receiving a number of calls for the first two months from folks trying to reach whoever previously had that number.  Then, I enjoyed silence since only my wife has the number.

Recently, the spammers began calling.  I’ve no idea how they obtained the number.  If they’re dialing sequentially, why am I still spam free on my Nokia? Did Tracfone sell my number?

The spammers aren’t even trying to hide their phone numbers.  Even if my wife wasn’t the only one with my number, the spammers stick out because they’re coming from out of state area codes, especially the northwest.

I know there’s a “do not call” registry but I don’t have any faith in it.  When I used the Internet to do a reverse search on two spammer numbers, I came across a website which encouraged folks to list spammers’ phone numbers. Many folks who did so noted they were on the “do not call” registry but were being called anyway.  Maybe the spammers are buying the “do not call” registry so they can have “live” phone numbers to call.  Apparently the government isn’t doing enough to give the spammers reason not to call the folks on the registry. And some spammers are in Canada, where the government has no jurisdiction.

Fortunately, my LG phone is advanced enough that it can technologically swat spammers.  All I had to do was create a special group contact list, which I named Spam.  Each time a spammer called, I jotted down the number and entered it into the Spam list.  My phone has a “call reject” feature and I set it to reject all calls coming from a number in the Spam list.  These calls are routed to my voicemail without a single ring on my phone.

As more and more folks give up land lines, I see the day when telephone spammers become extinct.  They can’t stay in business if all their calls are being rejected and they never speak to a person.  That day can’t come too soon…

What say you?

