My Rock Concert Deficit

The death of Davy Jones was a bit unsettling for me.  It isn’t just that it’s the most recent reminder that the music of my generation is literally dying.  It’s also a reminder of my rather high rock concert deficit.

Growing up in the Philippines had many advantages.  But one disadvantage was that there were few opportunities to see many of my favorite bands in concert.

I still remember vividly my introduction to the British invasion.  I was at my best friend’s home when his older brother came rushing into the room, exclaiming that we would not believe what we were about to hear. Since he was prone to exaggeration, I was not anticipating too much.

But when he played that 45,  I sat in stunned silence from beginning to end.  This music was nothing like the Beach Boys and Supremes music we were listening to!  I don’t remember exactly what I said at the end of the song but it was something along the lines of “holy shit!”  We played that 45 at least another three times in a row.  It was The Beatles’ “I Saw Her Standing There.”

From that moment, I was caught up in the British bands.  In the great Beatles and Rolling Stones divide, I was in the Stones’ camp. The eight-track which saw the most play in my car was “Their Satanic Majesties Request” album.

Unfortunately, I’ve never been to a Rolling Stones concert.  That’s at the top of my bucket list.

I did catch a number of British bands while living in Manila.   Herman’s Hermit’s….Dave Clark Five.

Some American bands too. Paul Revere and the Raiders….Gary Lewis and the Playboys.

Here in the U.S., I reduced the deficit just a bit by seeing The Kinks, my third (after The Animals)  favorite British invasion band.

The last rock concert I’ve been to was Joe Cocker at the Hard Rock in Vegas a few years ago.  I’ve been wanting to see him since The Mad Dogs and Englishmen album.

But I’ll never be able to reduce the deficit for many bands.  The Doors…Creedence Clearwater Revival.  And so many, many more. Thank goodness for Oldies music stations…

9 responses to “My Rock Concert Deficit

  1. What a great trip down memory lane. My first intro to the Beatles was “I Want to Hold Your Hand” and I was like you, stunned. That was 1964 and I was in the 9th grade 🙂 I never liked the Monkees. They were more my sister’s generation–amazing what a five-year difference in age can do at that age. And also like you, I eventually became a Rolling Stones adherent (rebels that we are.) I confess that I did like “Daydream Believer”.
    Also, guess who is also on Facebook? FloridaCat! Want me to give her your name?

  2. It’s nice that when you grow up, five years is nothing.

  3. I’m with you on CCR. But probably my greatest regret is missing, concert-wise, The Eagles.

  4. Reading your post today Steve brought back great memories of listening to records. With you and the rest of the 9th grade gang at James Fall’s house down the block from you in Bel Air. I can still remember the first time I heard the Doors “When you’re Strange” at his house, as well as a lot of Dave Clark 5. Cokes, potato chips, ping pong and friends. What a good time!

  5. A bit before my time actually. About 10 years before my time. But I do remember listening to several of these bands like CCR. Never really cared much for the Beatles or Rolling Stones. I was more of a head banger. AC/DC, Rush, Jethro Tull, Aerosmith, The Dead and a few others. I guess I missed out on the beginning of the revolution. Always felt I should have belonged to the Hippie generation but alas before my time.

    They do not make bands or music like they use to unfortunately. Now most of it is one hit wonders get the money and run and just copy some other song that made it big and rewrite the words a bit but leave the melody as is to ensure a hit.

    The creative days are gone just about the money now. Show me the green as the green as they say. I do however remember what an LP looked and sounded like.

    • > the Hippie generation
      It’s a state of mind available to all. But first, you must meditate and cleanse yourself of the poisonous heavy metal in your blood….

  6. Who . . . . . . . . . . . . .

What say you?

