We Interrupt Regularly Scheduled Blogging For…

About two weeks ago, I was surprised to learn that I had been nominated for the Kreativ Blogger award you see on the right.  It came from 0mawarisan, author of the “Blurts” blog I link to.  (He is one of my more recent links, which added to the surprise.)

As with many awards, there are certain formalities to adhere to.  So, here goes….

First, the “thank you.”  I previously did this on his blog, but I say it again: I’m both honored and humbled.

Second, I must reveal seven things about myself that readers may find interesting.  Now this took some thought.  Here’s what I came up with:

1.  I was born and raised in the Philippines, which anyone who’s read the “About” section of this blog already knows. I  bring it up because I think that living the first 18 years of my life in a Third World country explains a lot about why I often have a different perspective on issues.

2. When I was young, I avoided mustard because it was too “spicy.”  Sometime after college, I came to enjoy spicy food.  I always have a dozen or so bottles of hot sauce in the house and I especially enjoy spicy Thai food.  My favorite food enhancer is Sriracha Thai chili sauce.  If my scalp is sweating, then I know the food is spicy enough for me!

3.  Since coming to the U.S, I’ve never owned a pet.  Here’s one reason why

4.  I’ve never had an interest in watching sports of any kind, whether live or on TV.  Unless you consider poker a sport.  (On the other hand, the word “sale” gets my blood racing….)

5. In my senior year of high school, I was nominated for class clown.  I think the ability to make folks laugh is one of  my best strengths in both my personal and professional lives.

6.  I have been a fan of Baroque music since hearing Pachelbel’s “Canon in D” when I was a college sophomore in the early ’70s. I joined the Musical Heritage Society record club and collected many dozens of Baroque recordings.  My favorite instruments are trumpet and harpsichord.

7.  Although I have the course equivalent of three undergraduate majors (philosophy, history and political science), I do not have a “traditional” major.  I opted to enter a special program called Jefferson House (which did not exist physically) where I worked with one of the program faculty members to create my own course of study in African history and politics.  Most of my “courses” were “independent study” classes where I read a number of books, discussed them one on one with my faculty sponsor and then wrote a paper or two on the topic.

My faculty sponsor was the son of a high level official in the first government of what is now Zaire (formerly Belgian Congo) before the civilian government was ousted in a military coup and he fled the country to avoid arrest.  He was educated in the U.S. and came to the college as one of the first black faculty as part of an agreement settling a black student takeover of a campus building in which I had a role in resolving in favor of the students.

(To “balance” my undergraduate degree, I obtained a Master’s in Public Administration but the most important part of my formal education to my professional career has been the analytical discipline and theoretical approach I learned from philosophy.)

I’m also supposed to nominate seven blogs I believe deserving of the award.  Unfortunately, I read very few other blogs so I do not feel qualified to do this.

However, there is one blog I do read that is very different from the others and so I will nominate it: Florida Cat, a Floridian who now lives in rural North Carolina. Her posts are wonderful Southern-style “stories” that will often make you laugh, especially if you are familiar with the nuances of Southern life. The link to her blog is on my blogroll.

2 responses to “We Interrupt Regularly Scheduled Blogging For…

  1. Hey…congratulations! It couldn’t have happened to a more deserving person! And I totally agree with you about FloridaCat too.

What say you?

